Lincoln to invade Omaha! and here’s the schedule…

Category: Blog — @ 5:44 pm April 28, 2009

A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away, I suggested to Lincoln Calling organizer Jeremy Buckley that he should put together a weekend of shows in Benson that feature all Lincoln bands. Maybe call it Lincoln Invasion. Now a few years later, Lincoln Invasion is becoming a reality. In fact, Buckley just sent me the preliminary schedule for the event, which will be held June 19 and 20 at three Benson venues — The Waiting Room, PS Collective and The Barley St. Tavern.

“It’s still seven-plus weeks out so we might have a band cancel or add, but hopefully we don’t screw with too much,” Buckley said. “We’re doing a $5 cover each night — the cover will get you into all three shows (Barley St. is 21+). We have 10 bands on Friday and 12 on Saturday and I think it’s a good representation of what’s going in Lincoln musically these days.”

So do I. A few bands are obviously missing (Eagle*Seagull, UUVVWWZ, For Against, etc.), but Buckley said that’s partially due to scheduling conflicts (i.e., they’re on the road). He said that he’s also “hoping to set up a bus excursion from Lincoln to Omaha and back each night so fans that don’t want to drive up there personally can go with a bunch of other music fans. If we pull this off it will be a true Lincoln Invasion.”

Here’s the schedule, along with the bands’ myspace addresses:

Friday, June 19

The Waiting Room

9:40-10:30 The Machete Archive www.myspace.com/themachetearchive
10:50-11:35 Ideal Cleaners www.myspace.com/idealcleaners
11:55-12:40 The Show is the Rainbow www.myspace.com/theshowistherainbow

PS Collective

9:30-10:20 The Allendales www.myspace.com/theallendales
10:40-11:40 Lucas Kellison and the Assembled Soul www.myspace.com/lucaskellison
12-1 Andrews Ave www.myspace.com/andrewsave

The Barley Street Tavern

9:20-10 Triggertown www.myspace.com/triggertown
10:20-11:00 The Amalgamators www.myspace.com/theamalgamators
11:20-12 Pharmacy Spirits www.myspace.com/pharmacyspirits
12:20-1:00 Big Gigantic www.myspace.com/biggiganticmusic

Saturday, June 20

The Waiting Room

9:40-10:10 Manny Coon www.myspace.com/mannycoon
10:20-11 Crush the Clown www.myspace.com/crushtheclown
11:20-12 Domestica www.myspace.com/domesticajr
12:20-1 Somasphere www.myspace.com/somasphere

PS Collective

9:10-9:50 Gooses www.myspace.com/goosesgooses
10:10-10:50 Once a Pawn www.myspace.com/onceapawnmusic
11:10-11:50 Columbia Vs Challenger www.myspace.com/columbiavschallenger
12:10-12:50 Knots www.myspace.com/knotit

Barley St. Tavern

9:00-9:40 AM Revival www.myspace.com/amrevival
10-10:40 Jodie Loves Hinckley www.myspace.com/jodieloveshinckley
11-11:40 Orion Walsh www.myspace.com/orionwalsh
12-12:40 Strawberry Burns www.myspace.com/strawberryburns

This festival, of course, will not preclude the annual Lincoln Calling festival, which will be held Sept. 30 through Oct. 4. More info as it becomes available…

–Got comments? Post ’em here.

Share | Email | Bookmark

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

Lazy-i